Whitewash wins for East Ward B and Fields A in Hey’s Trophy and E Rosse Hopkinson Plate finals

East Ward B, who defeated Salthorn WMC 8-0 to win the Hey’s Trophy team snooker competition

EAST Ward B lifted the Hey’s Trophy for Bradford snooker teams, winning all eight frames in the final against Salthorn WMC at Eccleshill Victoria Conservative Club.

The victors, playing off a team handicap of 225, were giving a 125 start and won the match 818-644.

Danny Peel beat Andy Stirk 60-54, 82-38, with Paul Storey winning 69-37 and 80-29 against Chris Simmonds.

Darren Milner had frame wins of 64-49 and 99-24 against Gary Elenor, while Michael Rhodes took frames against Glen Cooper 62-23 and 72-40.

In the E Rosse Hopkinson Plate final, Fields A also won all eight frames to beat Baildon Woodbottom 693-561 at East Ward after giving 100 start on the handicap.

Two-frame aggregate results (Fields players first): D Hale 112 M Yeadon 81, A Leeming 138 D Hadley 74, J Fieldhouse 120 C Brook 60, N Hale 148 D Glover 71.

* THE final of the Yorkshire Snooker Championship takes place at the Northern Snooker Centre in Leeds tomorrow night.

Leeds player Johnathon Bagley, champion in 2009, is aiming to go one better than last season, when he finished runner-up to Castleford opponent Mikey Tomlinson.

Peter Fisher, another Castleford player, is Bagley’s opponent this time. He was last in the final in 2014 and is aiming to lift his first Yorkshire Championship trophy.

The match is over the best-of-seven frames and gets underway at 7.30pm, followed by the presentation of all the Yorkshire trophies to the season’s champions.

Permanent link to this article: https://www.bsa-cuesports.com/yorkshire-snooker-competitions/whitewash-wins-for-east-ward-b-and-fields-a-in-heys-trophy-and-e-rosse-hopkinson-plate-finals/