Gareth Green is eyeing fifth Bradford snooker title

Gareth Green is eyeing a fifth Bradford Snooker Championship title

THE semi-finals of the Bradford Snooker Championship are being played tonight at Great Horton Conservative Club (7.30pm).

Four-time champion Gareth Green takes on Bradford team-mate Josh Walker, while Stefan Risidi plays Lewis Walsh in the best-of-seven frame matches.

The winners will face each other in the final on Saturday, again at Great Horton Conservative Club (7.45pm).

Bradford’s billiards team rounded off their Yorkshire Inter-District League campaign with a 7-6 victory at home to Doncaster, which meant that the hosts finished as runners-up behind defending champions Huddersfield No 1.

Doncaster’s Rob Harrison got off to a good start and was the first to 80 before Steve Wilman got going with a break of 39 and went on to lead 161-100.

Harrison pulled back the deficit, but Wilman held on for a 200-195 win to give his side a 3-2 lead.

Rick Harrison was also first away against Bradford’s Paul Devitt, but a break of 33 brought the scores level at around the 50 mark, and from then on Devitt pulled ever further in front for a 200-107 win, extending Bradford’s advantage to 6-3.

It was then Bradford’s turn to get a good start as Stephen Kershaw included a 31 break in a 59-9 lead but Doncaster’s Dave Palmer made the highest break of the night, and the highest of the season in matches involving the Bradford team, with a 95, and from then on the Bradford captain was struggling, eventually losing 200-120 for a 7-6 scoreline in Bradford’s favour.

Bradford’s No 1 snooker side still have three matches remaining over the course of the next week or so, and their last home match of the season is on Sunday at Undercliffe Cricket Club (7pm), with Wakefield the opponents.

The semi-finals of the Bradford Billiards Championship are being played next Wednesday at Clayton Conservative Club, with an 8pm start.

Matches are of 90 minutes duration and feature eight-time champion Mark Hirst against 2003 champion Richard Bowes, with four-time winner Stephen Kershaw taking on 2015 runner-up Steve Wilman.

Permanent link to this article: