Sonny outcome as Sandhu wins Bradford Snooker Handicap crown

UNDERCLIFFE Cricket Club’s Sonny Sandhu is the new Bradford Snooker Handicap champion,winning an entertaining final against Craig Davies (Tong Liberal) at Eccleshill Victoria Conservative Club.

Sandhu won a tense first frame 65-48, and the next two were shared 71-38, with the help of a snooker on the brown and a 22 clearance by Sandhu, Davies replying in the third 64-38 to make it 2-1.

In the fourth frame, a break of 37 by Sandhu proved the difference, winning the frame 72-23 and taking the title 3-1. 

Bradford Handicap finalists 2017

Bradford will once again be represented at this year’s UK Snooker League Championship, with the team being part of an invitational 16- team event at the Northern Snooker Centre in Leeds this weekend.

The team first took part two years ago and were runners-up to Norwich in the final, while last season they made it to the quarter-finals.

There are two round-robin groups of eight, with the top four from each group going through to the knockout stages.

The event gets underway at 11am on Saturday and continues from 10am on Sunday.

The squad is ten-time Bradford champion Wayne Cooper, four-time Bradford champion Gareth Green, Anthony Green, Mark Slater, Josh Walker and Kevin Firth

Permanent link to this article: