Bradford No 2 consolidate number one spot

Brothers ino Quarter Finals draw

Brothers info Quarter Finals draw

BRADFORD No 2’s snooker side came away from their trip to Ossett No 2 with an excellent 5-1 victory, maintaining their unbeaten season and firmly cementing their lead at the top of Division Two in the Yorkshire Inter-District League.

Gareth Green had a comfortable passage during his two frames, winning 67-3 and 61-25 to put Bradford ahead. Peter Hamilton lost out in his first frame to Ricky Smith 47-29, but redeemed himself, taking the next 78-62. Captain Hanif Rafiq is in superb form this season and, following on from his 114 break in the last match and semi-final appearance in the Yorkshire Handicap, was destructive in his defeat of Nathan Hebblethwaite, winning 63-8 and 112-0, the second frame including a break of 48.

Division One defending champions Bradford No 1 had their unbeaten run broken as Leeds No 1 took the spoils 4-2 at the Northern Snooker Centre. Yorkshire and Bradford champion Wayne Cooper shared frames with Leeds’ Mark Ball, as did Kevin Firth and Tony Massey. Lewis Walsh was 30 in front with the final red remaining and looking good for the frame, but opponent Mick Jenson took the remainder of the balls and also won the decisive final frame.

The Bradford billiards team are in action on Saturday (7.30pm) at Great Horton Conservative Club where they entertain Huddersfield No 2.

The quarter-final line-up in the Bradford Snooker Singles Championship has now been finalised with all matches played. Defending champion Cooper and Ball locked horns once more and it was the nine-time champion who triumphed 4-0, the same score also recorded by four-time champion Gareth Green over Dean Parker.

Anthony Green, finalist in 2014, edged out Adam Tipper 4-3, with Josh Walker also making the final eight with a 4-3 success over David Stirk. Walsh triumphed 4-0 against Richard Hagerty, as did last season’s runner-up Mark Slater over doubles partner Jason Murgatroyd. Rafiq pressed on in the tournament with a 4-2 victory against Damian Bentley, while Darren Goy, who knocked out 2004 champion Howard Mawson in the last round, this time knocked out current Yorkshire Under-19 title holder Russell Morgan 4-3. The pairs competition has yet to be completed, but both tournaments’ quarter-finals will be drawn at the next Bradford No 1 match a week on Sunday.

Heys Trophy Draw

Hopkinson Plate Draw


The Yorkshire Under-19s Championship takes place on Saturday at The Northern Snooker Centre in Leeds. Registration is 11am, £5 entry fee and played to a conclusion on the day. Smart dress code applies with no jeans, trainers or collarless t-shirts.

Permanent link to this article: