Gaunt plays captain’s role as Undercliffe win title

Hey's Trophy winners Undercliffe Cricket Club B – from left: Paul Davey, Phil Gaunt, Damien Bentley and Dave Stirk

Hey’s Trophy winners Undercliffe Cricket Club B – from left: Paul Davey, Phil Gaunt, Damien Bentley and Dave Stirk

UNDERCLIFFE Cricket Club B fought off the challenge of Laisterdyke WMC A at East Ward Labour Club to win the Hey’s Trophy.

Conceding 50 points on the handicap in Bradford Billiards & Snooker Association’s snooker team event, Undercliffe set off well.

Paul Davey beat Martin Glen 80-33 and 69-24, while Dave Stirk edged two cagey frames against Dean Parker 69-48 and 60-52 to put their side 71 in front at the interval.

Paul Wood pulled back 36 points against Damien Bentley, winning their opener 64-28, but this was cancelled out by Phil Gaunt taking his opening frame 76-29 against Bernard McLoughlin.

Bentley made up for the first-frame loss to win 71-48, while Undercliffe captain Gaunt brought the curtain down on the match with a final-frame 51-23 success.


Eccleshill Vics duo Lewis Walsh and Howard Mawson make the final.

* In the first Bradford Snooker Pairs semi-final, played at Clayton Conservative Club, Eccleshill Vics duo Lewis Walsh and Howard Mawson had a narrow escape to claim a 3-2 victory over father and son Chris and John Wellham of Windhill Cons.

Chris, in particular, rolled back the years with some fine snooker and it was the Wellhams who took the opener 62-33. This soon became 1-1, with Walsh and Mawson winning 53-19, but again the Wellhams went ahead courtesy of a 58-1 frame win.

It looked as though the match would be won in the next. A useful lead was built by the Wellhams, only for Walsh to make a break of 34 mid-frame to hit back before stealing it on the pink after an uncharacteristic shot from John, which left Mawson with the simplest of pots.

In the final frame, Walsh and Mawson got off to a good start and never looked back, taking it 52-4.

* The final of the Bradford Snooker Singles Championship has now been arranged for Saturday, July 2 at Great Horton Conservative Club.

With both players tied up with other commitments, this was the earliest date that the match could be confirmed.

It promises to be a mouth-watering tie, with nine-time champion and holder Wayne Cooper taking on four-time winner Gareth Green.

* Mikey Tomlinson of Castleford won the Yorkshire Snooker Championship with a 4-1 victory over Leeds opponent Jonathon Bagley at the Northern Snooker Centre in Leeds.

Bagley, champion in 2011, started with a break of 76 but once Tomlinson settled and took his first frame, he became more confident as the match went on and was solid throughout to register his first county singles title.

Permanent link to this article: