Bradford crowned champions with clean sweep

Bradford No2 secure div2 title

Bradford No2 secure div2 title

Bradford No 2 took the Yorkshire Inter District League Division Two title in fine style with a 6-0 whitewash of Castleford No 3 at Cue Gardens.

Gareth Green started the ball rolling, a 37 in the first and an 85 break in the second putting the home side two up, before Boover Singh won the third frame to guarantee promotion and added the next, which secured top spot. Captain Hanif Rafiq had little to play for but still won both frames to ensure an emphatic end to the season.

John Wellham (Allerton Cons) will take on Anthony Green (Harold Club) in this year’s Bradford Snooker Championship final after both players came through tough semi-finals at Great Horton Cons. The first match was an identical repeat of last season’s semi final, with Wellham edging out Kevin Firth (Undercliffe Cricket) 4-3. This was also the result that Green enjoyed over 2004 champion Howard Mawson (Eccleshill Vic Cons).

The final will take place on Saturday, May 10 (7.45pm) also at Great Horton Cons.

The Bradford Snooker Pairs semi-finals also went the distance and the losers were unfortunate after putting up excellent performances at Eccleshill Victoria Cons.

Wayne Cooper and Firth (Undercliffe Cricket) needed brown, blue and pink to secure a 3-2 victory over fellow Undercliffe club players Josh Walker and Adam Tipper, while a 76 break from Clayton Libs’ Mark Slater was the highlight of a tense encounter with partner Jason Murgatroyd to beat Terry McDonald and Sonny Sandhu from Undercliffe 3-2.

The final will also be held at Eccleshill Victoria Cons on Saturday, May 17 with an earlier 7pm start.

In the Bradford Billiards Championships, defending champion Mark Hirst once again made the final with a 473-189 victory over Trevor Kershaw at Cue Gardens. Hirst made breaks of 50, 72 and 146 to set up a final appearance against Paul Devitt, who was successful in a much closer match against Richard Lodge at Great Horton Cons.

Devitt pulled away to lead 203-85, but Lodge fought back well and with time running out only trailed by 27, but a vital visit by Devitt gave him a 272-205 win. The final is expected to be before the end of May.

The Heys Trophy final will be contested this year between Upper BoltonCons A and Windhill Cons B at East Ward on May 15, while the Hopkinson Plate final between East Ward and Clayton Rugby A will take place on May 22 at Undercliffe Cricket Club.

Permanent link to this article: