Gareth Green Retains Bradford Singles Title – 2012/13


Gareth Green (pictured) was crowned Bradford snooker champion for the fourth successive year after beating John Wellham 4-0 in the final at Eccleshill Victoria Conservative Club.

There was a good-sized turnout for the match and a minute’s silence was impeccably observed before the start in memory of Eric Hodgkinson, who died in March.

The former Bradford Billiards & Snooker Association chairman ran cue sports in the district for over 27 years until retiring to Malta in 2002.

The match itself was far from a classic, with Wellham (Allerton Conservative Club) suffering a few early jitters in his first Bradford Snooker Championship singles final and Green (Lifeline Leisure) unable to find his top form.

Green took a scrappy first frame 64-32 and added the second after leading 58-1 with only one red left, which Wellham took and cleared for a confidence-boosting break of 34.

That seemed to spur on the Allerton player and he made a break of 32 at the start of the third frame.

But an untimely miscue on the black when well placed gifted Green a chance, which he took by making a break of 40 to seal a 3-0 interval lead.

The defending champion then secured the trophy with a 71-36 win in the fourth frame to end Wellham’s challenge.

Wayne Cooper


Wayne Cooper (pictured) won this years highest break with a 99 against a earlier round opponent  Richard Hagerty.





Report Courtesy of Richard Bakes,

Permanent link to this article: