E Rosse Hopkinson Team Snooker Championship Final – 2012/13


Laisterdyke Wmc A (pictured) defeated Lilycroft Wmc B in the E Rosse Hopkinson plate final at Undercliffe Cricket club on Thursday 30th May, Lilycroft B receiving 75 points handicap start.

Dean Parker for Laisterdyke was on first against Peter Craven from lilycroft and a close-fought first frame sees Parker taking it with a 48-42 win with both players not yet finding their feet with the speed of the table, second frame and Parker taking the advantage of some missed opportunities from the Lilycroft player and taking Laisterdyke a little closer to the title winning it 65-37.

Steve Taylor for Lilyroft versus Bernard McLoughlin for Laisterdyke, and it was McLoughlin who took a tight first frame 62-55, second frame this time the tides turned and Taylor finding his feet and winning a solid second frame 61-39.

Last two players on and Laisterdyke have recovered 19 points from the 75 deficit, so everything was still to play for.

Mark Butler for Lilycroft took on Laisterdykes Martin Glen, Glen won the opener 59-47 whilst on the other table Paul Wood for Laisterdyke polished a fine frame win of 88-20 against Lilycroft opponent Keith Whitham which included a 30 break from Wood putting the Laisterdyke team 24 points in front going into the last two frames of the night.

Glen showed great determination and some sound play winning his final frame in good style 83-15 and thus putting his side further in front by 92 points

Wood secured a win for the Laisterdyke team winning his last frame 73-43 and with this the 2013 title of the E Rosse Hopkinson Plate.

Final Result
Laisterdyke Wmc – 517 scored + 275 hcp = total score of 792
Lilycroft – 320 scored + 350 hcp = total score of 670

Report and media courtesy of Wayne Downey


Permanent link to this article: https://www.bsa-cuesports.com/bradford-snooker/hopkinson-team-championship-final-2013/